Regular price $10.99
Unit price  per 

Exodus is the ninth studio album by Bob Marley and The Wailers, first released in June 1977 through Island Records, following Rastaman Vibration (1976). On 3 December 1976, an assassination attempt was made on Bob Marley's life in which his chest was grazed and his arm was struck with a bullet, but he survived. Following the assassination attempt Marley left Jamaica and was exiled to London, where Exodus was recorded. The album's production has been characterized as laid-back with pulsating bass beats and an emphasis on piano, trumpet and guitar. Unlike previous albums from the Wailers, Exodus thematically moves away from cryptic story-telling; instead it revolves around themes of change, religious politics, and sex. The album is split into two halves: the first half revolves around religious politics, while the second half is focused on themes of sex and keeping faith.  As described by Rolling Stone magazine, Exodus is an album with "the magnificent rhythm section of Aston "Family Man" Barrett, bass, and Carlton Barrett, drums, and the spidery lead guitar of Julian "Junior" Marvin — and the flatness of the material Bob Marley has given them to work with"

Jamming, Waiting in Vain, One Love/People Get Ready and Three Little Birds were all major international hits. Exodus peaked at number 20 on the Billboard 200 and at number 15 on the Black Albums Chart, as well as remaining in the UK charts for 56 consecutive weeks, where it peaked at number 8.

In 1999, Time magazine named Exodus the best album of the 20th century. In 2001, the TV Network VH1 named it the 26th greatest album of all time. In 2003, the album was ranked number 169 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 Greatest Albums Of All Time, maintaining the rating in a 2012 revised list. A Swaggie Records Desert Island Disc. U.K. Import.


Track Listing:
  • 1. Natural Mystic
  • 2. So Much Things to Say
  • 3. Guiltiness
  • 4. The Heathen
  • 5. Exodus
  • 6. Jamming
  • 7. Waiting in Vain
  • 8. Turn Your Lights Down Low
  • 9. Three Little Birds
  • 10. One Love/People Get Ready
  • 11. Jamming (Long Version)
  • 12. Punky Reggae Party (Long Version)