Regular price $11.79
Unit price  per 

The CD edition of Nirvana's hit album, Nevermind, which helped usher in the grunge era of the 1990's. Nevermind is the second studio album by Nirvana, released on September 24, 1991. Produced by Butch Vig, Nevermind was the group's first release on DGC Records. Frontman Kurt Cobain sought to make music outside the restrictive confines of the Seattle grunge scene, drawing influence from groups such as The Pixies and their use of "loud/quiet" dynamics. It is their first album to feature drummer Dave Grohl. Despite low commercial expectations by the band and its record label, Nevermind became a surprise success in late 1991, largely due to the popularity of its first single, Smells Like Teen Spirit. By January 1992 it had replaced Michael Jackson's album Dangerous at number one on the Billboard 200 chart. The album also produced three other successful singles: Come As You Are, Lithium and In Bloom. The Recording Industry Association of America has certified the album Diamond (over 10 million copies shipped) and the album has sold over 30 million copies worldwide. Nevermind was in part responsible for bringing alternative rock to a large mainstream audience and has been ranked highly on lists of the greatest albums of all time by publications such as Rolling Stone and Time.

The album cover, which shows a naked baby swimming with a U.S. dollar bill on a fishhook just out of his reach, is one of the most famous album covers in popular music.

Nevermind has sold over 30 million copies worldwide, making it one of the best-selling albums of all time. Among the most acclaimed albums in the history of music, it was responsible in part for bringing both grunge and alternative music to a mainstream audience and ending the dominance of hair metal. In 2004, the Library Of Congress added the album to the National Recording Registry which collects "culturally, historically or aesthetically important" sound recordings, and Smells Like Teen Spirit was inducted into the Grammy™ Hall Of Fame in 2018.

Track Listing:
  • 1. Smells Like Teen Spirit
  • 2. In Bloom
  • 3. Come As You Are
  • 4. Breed
  • 5. Lithium
  • 6. Polly
  • 7. Territoral Pissings
  • 8. Drain You
  • 9. Lounge Act
  • 10. Stay Away
  • 11. On A Plain
  • 12. Something in the Way