Regular price $7.99
Unit price  per 

Legalize It is an album by Peter Tosh. Legalize It was Tosh's debut album as a solo artist after leaving The Wailers. It was recorded at Treasure Isle Studios and Randy's, Kingston, Jamaica in 1976 and released in Jamaica in the same year. Legalize It is one of the two solo albums released in 1976 by Wailers members, along with Bunny Wailer's album Blackheart Man

The song was written in response to his ongoing victimization by the Jamaican police and as a political piece pushing for the legalization of marijuana, particularly for medical use. In 1977, Tosh backed this up by saying "We are the victims of raasclaat circumstances. Victimization.. colonialism...gonna lead to bloodbath." Tosh also said "Herb will become like cigarettes," in an NME interview in 1978. The title track was banned when released in Jamaica in 1975. Attempts to suppress the song failed, however, catapulting Tosh to international fame.

The album was released in the United States in June 1976 and appeared on the Billboard 200 album chart for two weeks, peaking at No. 199. In 1999, the album was certified platinum by the Recoding Industry Association Of america for over one million copies sold.

In 1981 critic Robert Christgau wrote: "Unlike most sidemen who go on to pursue their own artistic interests, ex-Wailer Tosh has managed to gather about half an album for his solo debut, which ain't bad. Ketchy Shuby even has the makings of a novelty hit. But oh, how his light heart and romantic spirit must be missed among his old mates."

The album was included in the book 1001 Albums You Must hear Before You Die.


Track Listing:
  • 1. Legalize It
  • 2. Burial
  • 3. Whatcha Gonna Do
  • 4. No Sympathy
  • 5. Why Must I Cry
  • 6. Igziabeher (Let Jah Be Praised)
  • 7. Ketchy Shuby
  • 8. Till Your Well Runs Dry
  • 9. Brand New Second Hand