Roscoe Shelton • The Best of Roscoe Shelton • CD

Roscoe Shelton • The Best of Roscoe Shelton • CD

Regular price $16.99 Sale price $10.99
Unit price  per 

 Although Nashville, TN is best known for its gargantuan contribution to country music history. Music City also hosted a thriving rhythm and blues community during the post-war era. John Richbourg, a top-rated deejay on Nashville's 50,000 watt R&B station WLAC was a prime mover and shaker on that scene, especially after he hooked up with Sound Stage 7 Records as a producer during the mid-60s. In that role Richbourg helmed seminal hits for many of the label's best soul singers, including Lynchburg Tennessee native Roscoe Shelton.

Shelton started out as a gospel vocalist, initially with the Fairfield Four and then with the Skylarks, before making the secular switch in 1958 at the behest of Excello Records owner Ernie Young. Roscoe made seven singles for Excello stretching into 1961, but he didn't hit his stride until he signed with locally-based Sims Records, where he crashed the national R&B charts with Strain On My Heart in 1965. Moving over to Sound Stage 7 the following year, Shelton hit again with Easy Going Fellow and made more great platters for SS7 into 1968 before retiring from show business. This bountiful 28-track compilation of Roscoe's SS7 years offers the most in-depth examination yet of a soul music pioneer's most productive period, his mellifluous voice never failing to thrill. Nashville soul at its finest!


Track Listing:

  1. Strain On My Heart
  2. My Best Friend
  3. Worry
  4. Love Is The Key
  5. I'm Tryin' To Quit
  6. Love Comes And Goes
  7. Master Mind
  8. Keep Your Mind On Me
  9. Wedding Cake
  10. The Fire Still Burns
  11. My Eyes (I Can Cry If I Want To)
  12. I Know Your Heart Has Been Broken
  13. Easy Going Fellow
  14. Roll With The Punch
  15. Who Walks In (When I Walk Out)
  16. You're Living Too Fast
  17. Soon As Darkness Falls
  18. A Man's Love
  19. I'm In Way Too Deep
  20. Tonight's My Night
  21. Running For My Life
  22. There's A Heartbreak Somewhere
  23. I Can't Stand To Be Without You
  24. I Want To Keep You (If You Want To Stay)
  25. You Ought To Take Time Out For Your Love
  26. I'm Ready (To Love You Now)
  27. You're The Dream
  28. I'm Still The Man