Fleetwood Mac • Rumours • Vinyl 2009 REPRESSING

Fleetwood Mac • Rumours • Vinyl 2009 REPRESSING

Regular price $28.00
Unit price  per 

Rumours is the eleventh studio album by Fleetwood Mac, released on 4 February 1977 by Warner Bros. Records. Largely recorded in California in 1976, it was produced by the band with Ken Calliat and Richard Dashut. The band wanted to expand on the commercial success of their eponymous 1975 album, but struggled with relationship breakups before recording started. The Rumours studio sessions were marked by hedonism and strife among band members that shaped the album's lyrics.

Recorded with the intention of making "a pop album", the album's music featured a "pop rock" and soft rock sound characterized by accented rhythms and electric keyboards such as the Fender Rhodes or Hammond B3 organ. The members partied and used cocaine for much of the recording sessions, and its completion was delayed by its mixing process but was finished by the end of 1976. Following the album's release, Fleetwood Mac undertook worldwide promotional tours. Rumours became the band's first number one album on the UK Albums Chart and also topped the US Billboard 200. The songs Go Your Own Way, Dreams, Don't Stop, and You Make Loving Fun were released as singles, all of which reached the US Top 10.

Rumours was an instant commercial success, selling over 10 million copies worldwide within just a month of its release. It garnered widespread acclaim from critics, with praise centred on its production quality and harmonies, which frequently relied on the interplay among three vocalists and has inspired the work of musical acts in different genres. It won Album Of The Year at the 1978 Grammy™ Awards. It has sold over 45 million copies worldwide, making it one of the best-selling albums of all time. Domestically, it has received Diamond certifications in several countries, including the UK, Canada, and Australia, and has been certified 20 x Platinum in the US.

Often considered Fleetwood Mac's best release, the album has featured in several publications' lists of the best albums of the 1970s and of all time. The album has been included in numerous lists of the greatest albums; in the Rolling Stone The 500 Greatest Albums Of All Time list it was ranked number 26. In 2003, it was inducted into the Grammy™ Hall Of Fame. In 2018, it was selected for preservation in the National recording registry, being deemed "culturally, historically, or artistically significant" by the Library Of Congress.

 Track Listing: 

A1 - Second Hand News
A2 - Dreams
A3 - Never Going Back Again
A4 - Don´t Stop
A5 - Go Your Own Way
A6 - Songbird
B1 - The Chain
B2 - You Make Loving Fun
B3 - I Don´t Want To Know
B4 - Oh Daddy
B5 - Gold Dust Woman